MOScholars scholarships can be used by students attending eligible Missouri schools. Per statute, eligible schools include a home school as defined in
section 167.031 or any of the following
entities that is incorporated in Missouri and that does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, or national origin:
- A charter school as defined in section 160.400;
- A private school;
- A public school as defined in section 160.011; or
- A public or private virtual school.
All schools must be partnered with a certified Educational Assistance Organization (EAO), and all schools other than home schools must be accredited through one of the
approved accrediting associations to be an eligible school within the program.
Home school students interested in applying for MOScholars should first connect with an EAO to understand the EAO’s capacity for, and any requirements of, partnering with
home schools. Next, students will complete a prescreening with the EAO, and if eligible, move on to the submission of an application.
As part of the application process, in addition to meeting the definition of a home school under section 167.031,
home schools must:
- Agree to not pay, share, refund, or rebate any MOScholars account funds in any manner with the parent, qualified student, or any other individual within three (3) degrees of consanguinity
(kinship/relation) to the qualified student.
- When requested, produce the records required to be maintained under section 167.031.2(2)(a), RSMo..
- Within the online student application, students/parents must:
- Submit a background check authorization to allow the State Treasurer’s Office to conduct a review of the criminal history records maintained by the Missouri State Highway Patrol in the Missouri
criminal records repository. An authorization must be completed for every adult, age 18 years and older, who resides in the home school, and the background check will be completed if the home
school is given initial approval from an EAO.
- Submit a proposed curriculum plan, or produce the records required to be maintained under section 167.031.2(2)(a), RSMo.
- Submit a completed home school certification form.
- After the student/parent submit the online MOScholars application and home school documents, the EAO will review the home school certification for pre-approval within 15 days of receipt, then submit to
the STO for final approval. Upon receipt of a home school certification that has received initial approval from an EAO, the STO will review the certification documents and the criminal history records,
then notify the EAO and home school parent(s) of final approval or denial.